SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Tips for replacing the toilet flange.
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Tips for replacing the toilet flange. Login/Join 
It's not you,
it's me.
Picture of RAMIUS
posted
The adventures of home ownership...I'm learning all kinds of skills.

I just installed a really nice tile floor that goes from the foyer into the powder room.

Previously, the toilet was leaking at the base. I figured it just needed a new wax seal. Upon further inspection, the flange appears to be in very bad shape...rusty, brittle, etc

I'm basically a novice at plumbing, but from what I read on the net, seems like it could be easy, or a nightmare...

Any tips?

Posts: 7016 | Location: Right outside Philly | Registered: September 08, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Avoiding
slam fires
Picture of 45 Cal
posted Hide Post
Go back in with a pvc closet flange,might require some extra cleaning of waste pipe.especially if cast iron.
There is a bonding agent to marry the two together.
I have had to do in my 55 year old home ,some years back.

Posts: 22410 | Location: Georgia | Registered: February 19, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I had a plumber turn down that very job before, so, I learned a little something. Good luck, it has been 15 years since I did that now.
Have never done any finish flooring, except helped with tiling my laundry room.

NRA Life Endowment member
Tri-State Gun collectors Life Member

Posts: 2794 | Location: Ohio | Registered: December 18, 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Conveniently located directly
above the center of the Earth
Picture of signewt
posted Hide Post
quote:
Any tips?

we had a similar repair, it went really really easy.

Called an expert remodeling guy we know.

Took 2 of 'em with special grinders & other stuff. Perfect job in about 90 minutes. $75 a deal at the price IMHO.

**************~~~~~~~~~~
"I've been on this rock too long to bother with these liars any more."