SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Personal Record on Bench Press
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Personal Record on Bench Press Login/Join 
Alienator
Picture of SIG4EVA
posted
I'm not sure how many of you guys lift, but this was a big one for me. I started lifting weights my Sophomore year in college and weighed in at 160 lbs at 6'1".

Now, I am 34 with a kid and I can barely find time to work out. I only get to go 3-4 days a week on my lunch for 30-40 minutes.

In college, the best I could do was 315 lbs max bench at around 195 lbs lean and that was working out 4-5 days a week and 1-2 hours sessions.

Today, I did a clean 325 lbs. It feels awesome to be the strongest I've ever been at this age. I'm sitting at 6'1" and 208 lbs.

SIG556 Classic
P220 Carry SAS Gen 2 SAO
SP2022 9mm German Triple Serial
P938 SAS
P365 FDE

Psalm 118:24 "This is the day which the Lord hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it"

Posts: 7071 | Location: NC | Registered: March 16, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Normality Contraindicated
Picture of italia
posted Hide Post
Remind me not to criticize the Panthers in your presence. Razz

Congrats!

------------------------------------------------------
Though we choose between reality and madness
It's either sadness or euphoria

Posts: 2988 | Location: Tennessee | Registered: January 26, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Leemur
posted Hide Post
I’ve never maxed out because it always seemed like a great way to cause an injury. Nowadays I just try to stay in shape and generally tend towards lighter weight/higher reps. If memory hasn’t failed me I think my best was about 285 for 6 reps at 5’11” and 190lbs.

Posts: 13742 | Location: Shenandoah Valley, VA | Registered: October 16, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Right on! I like weights too. Last December I was working on my max deadlift and I did 275 3 reps with wraps, I was pretty happy so I know the feeling.