SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Buying gun for some one else question
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Buying gun for some one else question Login/Join 
I made it so far,
now I'll go for more
Picture of rbert0005
posted Hide Post
Same deal as if you walked into a gun shop with your buddy (with proper licensing) and was going to buy him a gun because he's a nice guy and you just won some money.

He does the paperwork and you pay the man. Perfectly legal. The FFL doesn't care who ponies up the cash, why should you?

Bob

I am no expert, but think I am sometimes.

Posts: 4581 | Location: South Carolina | Registered: January 23, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Don't Panic
Picture of joel9507
posted Hide Post
IANAL, but you may be conflating two distinct things.

1) who you interacted with in offering the gun for sale, getting paid, and designating the FFL to ship to, and

2) who will be picking up the gun and signing the 4479 at the FFL

If the interaction in #1 resulted in you getting paid and the gun getting delivered to the FFL, then both you and the buyer should be happy. There is no Federal regulation that I know of that applies to that transaction, other than that it go through a FFL if it's interstate. (There might be state/local rules if it's in-state, of course.)

If the interaction in #2 satisfies the Federal regulations, as well as any state/local laws, then the FFL and the individual who picks up the gun (and the Feds, and the state/local LEOs) should be happy.

You are not part of interaction #2. Thought exercise - assuming you got paid, if nobody ever picked up the gun, and it stayed at the FFL forever, would that be your concern?

The 'straw purchase' violation applies if someone other than the 4479 signer is to receive the gun - who paid for the gun is not a variable.

Posts: 15029 | Location: North Carolina | Registered: October 15, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote: