SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Hog Hunting at Night
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Hog Hunting at Night Login/Join 
posted
I want to start doing some night hunting for hogs .I want to use my Bushmaster AR-15..I have little knowledge of thermal and night vision scopes/monocular..I know I want a thermal for scanning but may or may not want to use thermal for shooting..If I had $3500.00 to spend should I buy one thermal scope that is detachable and use it for both scanning and shooting or should I purchase a cheaper thermal for scanning and a night vision scope that remains fixed on my rifle? Pros and cons and suggestions???

Posts: 6 | Registered: October 19, 2017Reply With QuoteReport This Post
semi-reformed sailor
Picture of MikeinNC
posted Hide Post
Recently Mars Attacks posted about shooting rats at a friend's chicken coop. I beleive he was using some kinda night vision...

Have you seen that thread ??

And, Welcome aboard!

"Violence, naked force, has settled more issues in history than has any other factor.” Robert A. Heinlein

“You may beat me, but you will never win.” sigmonkey-2020

“A single round of buckshot to the torso almost always results in an immediate change of behavior.” Chris Baker

Posts: 11278 | Location: Temple, Texas! | Registered: October 07, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I believe a lot will depend on what type of area are you going to be hunting. The two systems complement each other. The night vision is better suited for open areas and longer range shooting. The thermal system is better in brush and dense foliage. I have a night vision setup and the friend I usually hunt with has a thermal system. I can see hogs, coyotes, etc., twice as far away as him, but if there is brush or vegetation his thermal setup allows him to see the heat source. All I see is the brush. YMMV

Posts: 118 | Location: KDTO...NTX | Registered: October 03, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
No ethanol!