SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    File under "Racist, totalitarian college campuses"
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

File under "Racist, totalitarian college campuses" Login/Join 
Bad dog!
Picture of justjoe
posted
Of which there are more and more every day. I am a college professor, so this trend is especially disturbing to me. But it should be a concern to every American, even if you don't have, or won't in the future have, a child of yours in college. Colleges are cranking out graduates who don't respect, or often even know about, the most fundamental American values, like The First Amendment.

When I was in college and graduate school, Ph.D.in '74, it was well understood in general that colleges promoted the free exchange of ideas. Classrooms challenged students to think, and defend beliefs with arguments and reason. This was true even where I did all of my graduate work-- The University of Michigan. Eek Michigan and Berkeley are now in a neck-and-neck race to see who leads the way in lock step leftist propaganda and ideology.

Increasingly across the country, colleges are places of ideological leftist indoctrination, and pity the student who challenges and argues. At Kenyon College, which is the article I'm citing, if you are a member of "the whiteness group," you are not allowed to ask a person of color any questions. Got that? If you dare ask a question, you will likely be labeled a racist. For asking a question.

Politcal correctness is not just an annoyance, not just a little wrong turn in the educational roadway. Crank it up and you have The Red Guard. In some places, like Berkeley, we are just about there. Kenyon College seems not far behind.

Political correctness shuts opponents down with shame. In many places, we see what the step after that is: shutting opponents down with threats of violence, and violence.