SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    CHL / LTC Instructors Sound Off
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

CHL / LTC Instructors Sound Off Login/Join 
posted
I'm kicking around the idea of getting my instructor cert. I'm a current firearms instructor with a certain 3 letter federal law enforcement agency and looking into possibly doing this in retirement. It's not really to make any money, more of a time filler. I just wanted to gain a little feedback from you guys who currently do it. Is it worth it or too many headaches? How much time do ya'll usually dedicated a month to this? I've never really dealt with the instruction of civilians so there will be a little adjustment for me there.

Posts: 752 | Registered: January 07, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Admit nothing. Deny everything.
Make counter-accusations.
Picture of rkentm
posted Hide Post
Depends greatly on the state. I am in TX and the market is absolutely flooded with instructors. Some are great and some are very much not.

The state has stupid-fied the training to such a degree, it boils down to, "Who teaches the cheapest and most convenient." Now the classroom portion can be taken online, so I get frequent calls for just the handgun proficiency component and doing just that is DEFINITELY not worth the headache.

I maintain my credentials only to teach the occasional class to someone that will pay for private instruction and that means about 6 classes a year.

"Ladies and Gentlemen - The Fit has hit the Shan!"

Posts: 568 | Location: Central Texas | Registered: September 25, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
semi-reformed sailor
Picture of MikeinNC
posted Hide Post
The TX LTC requirement is about four hours of basically safety training and the shooting...took half a day.