SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Retail Price
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Retail Price Login/Join 
posted
How does a manufacturer determine retail price of a product?
You see that dealers, distributors, set pricing for you. Manufacturers retail pricing seems to be nebulous towards the final pricing a product is offered at.

Jim

Posts: 1349 | Location: Southern Black Hills | Registered: September 14, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
quarter MOA visionary
Picture of smschulz
posted Hide Post
quote:

Ummm, their business, their right albeit manufacturers can exhibit pressure not to disparage retail prices.

Posts: 22904 | Location: Houston, TX | Registered: June 11, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
What you are asking is not a very easy question to answer. Much of the final price of a product is based on the distribution chain which affects how many people "step on" the final price.

I'm a product design engineer and I know that internally we will always determine the cost of the product which includes materials, direct labor, packaging, & shipping. Then you use an "overhead" multiplier to cover some fraction of fixed costs. Finally, you tack on capital costs (based on depreciation of investment), warranty costs, etc. Once you have this "cost", you'll evaluate minimum margin requirements to set your "wholesale price" now, depending on your distribution chain, each party has a similar formula for determining their minimum price. At the end you wind up at the street price. MSRP should reflect this number.