SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Log Splitter Suggestions on Kohler Engine?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Log Splitter Suggestions on Kohler Engine? Login/Join 
Joie de vivre
Picture of sig229-SAS
posted
We are having a wood burning stove installed in our NC mountain home and we are considering whether to purchase a log splitter or buy wood locally.

Lowes has a 30 ton splitter called the Dirty Hand Tools with a 6.5 HP Kohler engine.

Likewise Northern tool has NorthStar 30 ton splitter with a Honda engine. There is pretty steep price difference between the two and I feel Honda is a good engine.

Any one have direct experience with the Kohler engine ? All input welcome....

Posts: 3850 | Location: 1,960' up in Murphy, NC | Registered: January 29, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Not as lean, not as mean,
Still a Marine
Picture of Gibb
posted Hide Post
I have no experience with either of those, but do have experience with splitters in general.
The motor isn't as important as the hydraulic pump and lines in my experience. A good motor in a poor pump setup will still frustrate you with slow or jerky operation.
Also, ease of controls can be a huge difference. Sitting there holding the lever gets very tedious after a while, and that can lead to distraction.

I suggest getting as much hands on as you can with each to try and get a feel for which one seems more comfortable to use, then weigh in the motor and pump factors.

I shall respect you until you open your mouth, from that point on, you must earn it yourself.

Posts: 3352 | Location: Southern Maine | Registered: February 10, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I have a 30 ton splitter with the Kohler engine but it is a 9.5 hp model. So far so good but it leaks a little oil when in storage. Just a little, not enough to worry about. I bought mine at Tractor Supply last year. I went for the 30 ton over the 25 ton because it had the larger engine.