SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Tool help - triple square (xzn) vs spline
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Tool help - triple square (xzn) vs spline Login/Join 
posted
I bought a winter beater mkv Jetta that needs some work. I finished up rebuilding the rear and now I'm moving on to the front. It needs hubs, and according to the interwebs, the bolts are metric 12 spline. I did some Googling and can't figure out if an m12 triple square is the same thing or not. I don't think it is, but everytime I searched for an m12 spline socket I kept getting results for triple square.

I'm new to these German cars so excuse my ignorance. Any help would be appreciated.

Posts: 2690 | Location: Baltimore | Registered: October 22, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Krazeehorse
posted Hide Post
I found SAE #12 spline sockets in 3/8" drive.
https://store.snapon.com/Shall...-Socket-P633907.aspx

Be careful what you tolerate. You are teaching people how to treat you.

Posts: 5685 | Location: Ohio | Registered: December 27, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Spline and XZN (Triple Square) are not the same thing. Or rather, XZN is a type of spline drive. XZN has triangular splines, and generally when someone say "spline drive" they mean rectangular splines, like a transmission input shaft or CV Shaft.

However, I pulled the VW Manual and what you actually need is an XZN. Amazon sells a couple sets with several common sizes for ~$20. like so

FWIW, the manual calls to use new bolts on the bearing housing and torque them to 70NM (52 ft-lbs) + 90 Degrees.

Posts: 158 | Location: Tampa | Registered: August 14, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Nosce te ipsum
Picture of Woodman
posted Hide Post
BelMetric https://www.belmetric.com has all kinds of metric bolts, nuts, studs.

Posts: 8759 | Registered: March 24, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Just because you can,
doesn't mean you should
posted Hide Post