SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    So I went to the Toyota dealer
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

So I went to the Toyota dealer Login/Join 
Loves His Wife
Picture of BRL
posted Hide Post
I have zero experience with CVT transmissions in a car or truck but I'm surprised to hear that many say they aren't durable enough, don't have the performance or cat handle the torque. There are 150-250 hp tractors out the (that's pretty good size) that run CVTs and when it's a choice, that transmission will outperform any of the other choices. I'm sure totally different technology but it's all relative, I would think auto engineers could get it done.

I am not BIPOLAR. I don't even like bears.

Posts: 12933 | Location: Western WI | Registered: January 05, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
My wive's Highlander certainly isn't gutless. It isn't a sports car but it has a pretty good kick for a big heavy SUV. My other two CVT's were in Subaru's which are on the gutless side. However, you stick your foot in either and they respond fine. I don't understand the boat throttle reference.

I wonder if some of you had poor experience when they first became mainstream. I think many, many cars have this style of tranny and they are great. I personally don't want to feel every up shift and downshift. If I did I would switch over to the sport mode and force the shifts myself. No thanks.

Interesting discussion though. Still don't really understand the hate.

Posts: 7473 | Location: Florida | Registered: June 18, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
No ethanol!
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by pedropcola:
I have had 3 CVT's by 2 different manufacturers and 0 problems at all. I keep hearing how everyone hates them but I still can't figure out why. They are way better and smoother than the older auto transmissions. What is the hate based on?