SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Graphic Designer/Artist Photog. Laptop recomendations needed!!
Page 1 2 3 4 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Graphic Designer/Artist Photog. Laptop recomendations needed!! Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
FWIW, I am just a lowly bottom feeding amateur photographer. My real job before I retired required me to use PC because it interfaced with the machine programs I could troubleshoot from home. After retiring my old PC was starting to get wonky. I steeled up and bought a MacBook Pro. I hated to spend that much but since converting realized it is the best move I have made in using my Lightroom program which is not near as much a power program as Photoshop. Apple and Adobe work so much more seamlessly than Adobe and PC there is little to compare. If she is going to do this work professionally you just as well face the music and go with Apple. The basic commands are the same but everything on the PC is in a different place than on the imachines. I have several friends in the business and they all use and swear by Apple not at it. In the long run if you buy the right machine now you won't have to buy another one a year or so down the line when she realizes that she is a lone wolf in the job market.

The “POLICE"
Their job Is To Save Your Ass,
Not Kiss It

The muzzle end of a .45 pretty much says "go away" in any language - Clint Smith

Posts: 2872 | Location: See der Rabbits, Iowa | Registered: June 12, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Cat Whisperer
Picture of cmr076
posted Hide Post
every marketing guy and photographer I've ever hired used a Mac Pro

------------------------------------

├┼┼╕
246R

Posts: 3901 | Location: SE PA | Registered: November 13, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
quarter MOA visionary
Picture of smschulz
posted Hide Post
quote:
I need a computer with a good processor, ram and graphics card.

In your case you need to focus more on the hardware than the OS.