SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Does this jacket exist?
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Does this jacket exist? Login/Join 
Picture of Expert308
posted
So I've been wearing the same jacket for like 15 years now, a GoreTex shell that I add a liner to when it gets cold(er). But it's getting a little ratty and there are a couple of things I don't like about it, so it's time for a new jacket.

What I'm looking for is something lightweight, warm enough for the 25-50 degree range, and water repellent. Not necessarily waterproof, repellent is good enough. Wind resistant would be good too, as would a hood (I don't care for umbrellas). Not bulky, so something like Thinsulate, but not enough of it that it gets to be too warm in milder weather. This is something I'll wear to commute in (sometimes I drive, sometimes I use the bus/train system which involves waiting on sidewalks or train platforms), out on the town (NOT formal), etc. It would also be worn on trips to the range and the like, so some toughness is called for. I've looked at the Carhartt stuff but didn't find one that was quite right. Mostly they're too bulky and stiff. And lastly, something that doesn't cost an arm and a leg. Say, under about $150 preferred, $200 max. That may be the deal breaker. Oh, and I need to be able to buy it locally to avoid ordering the wrong size, so places like Duluth Trading are out.

Am I asking for too much? It's been quite a while since I've bought outerwear.

Posts: 7267 | Location: Idaho | Registered: February 12, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Idiot by birth,
Asshole by choice
posted Hide Post
Underarmor make some lightweight wind proof/waterproof jackets.

Posts: 3100 | Location: Georgia... 45 Minutes from everywhere....... | Registered: July 05, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
yes
Big Grin Wink

Safety, Situational Awareness and proficiency.

Neck Ties, Hats and ammo brass, Never ,ever touch'em w/o asking first