SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Gun as a wedding present to myself...
Page 1 2 3 4 5 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Gun as a wedding present to myself... Login/Join 
Ammoholic
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by oddball:
As far as revolvers, I love the S&W 27-2 and 28-2 Highway Patrolman, just classic pieces, but since these also are not on the roster, after a year, I gave up my search for a decently priced 27-2 and went with a 28-2 locally. To find in-demand off roster handguns, one must spend a lot of time looking at classifieds in CA based gun forums. And be prepared to spend more than the national average price.

I have no first hand experience with the place, but I read about a Bay Area shop (Milpitas maybe?) that specialized in getting non-roster Smiths in. You buy the gun and have it shipped to them. You buy a spare hammer and modify the spare hammer by taking off the pawl that causes the cylinder to turn. You take the spare hammer to their shop, install it, then do the DROS paperwork on your Single Action roster-exempt revolver. You come back ten days later, pickup your revolver, take it home and replace the original hammer. Lord I can't wait for the roster to be struck down as unconstitutional!

The roster has really taken the fun out of buying handguns in CA. Most of the interesting stuff is off roster and if you can find someone selling one on CalGuns, they are really proud of it. I get that, as the seller would have a devil of a time replacing it, but it is really hard to get excited about paying 1200 or 1300 dollars for a Sig Sauer P320 for instance.

Posts: 6872 | Location: Lost, but making time. | Registered: February 23, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post