SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Finance smart guys, step in please.
Page 1 2 3 4 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Finance smart guys, step in please. Login/Join 
posted
I think a mortgage is the least effective way of buying a house, Keep in mind, I am just your average Joe, I am not that smart, I have no finance or business background and that is why I want to read what you guys think. But my reason to believe that a mortgage is the least effective way of buying a house is because I am noticing that in a $300,000 mortgage over 30 years at 4% interest rate, I will pay around $100,000 the first five years.
I feel that people buying this $300,000 home end up paying for two or three houses over the lifetime of the mortgage, I would be inclined to buy the home in cash.
However, many people argue that having a mortgage has its benefits of tax deductions and/or write offs. And even argue that is better to invest the cash rather that paying off a home to avoid a mortgage.

My question to you guys, which one do you think is more beneficial? Paying the home in cash to avoid a mortgage or investing that cash somewhere else?

Posts: 294 | Registered: September 13, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Big Stack
posted Hide Post
Do you, or most normal people have $300,000 available to pay cash for the house? If not, it's not even a question. But if you do...

What is the effective interest rate for the mortgage, given it's tax deductability? This will be lower the higher tax rate the buyer has.

What return can you get on the cash if you don't put it into the house? Look at the article below:

http://www.businessinsider.com...ns-impressive-2016-5