SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Old Book On Snowshoes Karma... Winner is pwelch001
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Old Book On Snowshoes Karma... Winner is pwelch001 Login/Join 
Picture of wingspar
posted
Was cleaning out a box of stuff and found this old book on snowshoes. I don’t know where it came from or why I have it. It has a copyright date of 1971. Rather than toss it, I figure I’d offer it up as karma. I’ve never done this before, but I think the karmanator will be easy to figure out. I’ll pick a winner on the 24th of this month. Lower 48 only.

This message has been edited. Last edited by: wingspar,

---------------
Gary
Will Fly for Food... and more Ammo
Mosquito Lubrication Video

If Guns Cause Crime, Mine Are Defective.... Ted Nugent

Posts: 2505 | Location: Oregon | Registered: January 15, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of usp_fan
posted Hide Post
I'm in for that. I snowshoe quite a bit and that book looks interesting. Thanks.

Posts: 2504 | Location: Bismarck, ND | Registered: March 31, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Freethinker
Picture of sigfreund
posted Hide Post
Remarkably, I still have that very book.
It’s interesting to think back to the time when snowshoes were something that people still sometimes made for themselves, and there were many different styles, as pictured on the cover. There was the (somewhat daunting) advice about how one style was necessary for moving through the deep woods while another was best for open country, but intermediate designs could be used for either. And then there were the different types of snow to consider. In reading a bit of what was pictured above, I recall now that the authors addressed the controversy of whether Neoprene coated webbing should be used rather than the traditional rawhide, one of whose advantages was that animals were less likely to eat it.

All that advice was of course valid, but I wonder what they would think of today’s models.

6.4/93.6