SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Miracle heart valve replacement surgery
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Miracle heart valve replacement surgery Login/Join 
Edge seeking
Sharp blade!
posted
First a disclaimer that some details of this could be in error, since I have no medical background.

A friend's 77 year old dad had no problems but screening found a bad aortic heart valve. His condition luckily got him into a study, I think comparing common sternum splitting heart valve replacement to a procedure done through femoral artery. As part of the study, he wasn't sure which type of surgery he would have until close to when it was done. This type of valve replacement is mainly targeted towards high risk patients who may not fare well with regular heat valve surgery. He was not in the high risk category as he's in pretty good shape, but was chosen for it anyway.

He had it done at 9 AM Wednesday, and went home Thursday afternoon. I was at his daughter's house last night (Friday night) when he brought her a birthday card. He was driven by his wife but walked in just fine, in good spirits, without pain and taking no pain medications. He also had a pacemaker installed in his neck. He claimed no pain beyond needle sticks from IVs.

He said the valve was part metal and part pig tissue and collapses to around 1/4" for installing in the femoral artery, then is opened up when installed. I think they work through both femoral arteries. It supposedly has a 5 year life span before it needs replacement, which fits well with it being intended for high risk and unhealthy patients.

It isn't outlandish to imagine heart valve replacements like this being done on an outpatient basis in the future.

Posts: 7452 | Location: Over the hills and far away | Registered: January 20, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Paddle your
own canoe
Picture of BigWhup
posted Hide Post
There are some great strides being made in medicine.