SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    What's a good law school graduation gift?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

What's a good law school graduation gift? Login/Join 
Live for today.
Tomorrow will
cost more
Picture of motor59
posted
One of my coworkers is graduating from law school in May. He's a cop in an adjoining jurisdiction, but doesn't plan on leaving that career just yet.

Any suggestions on an appropriate gift? I want to keep it in the $2-300 range if I can.

One avenue I'm considering the fountain pen route. I recall that he likes collecting them and prefers writing with a nib rather than a ballpoint.

Other likes:

Cigars
Fishing
Watches

Please give me your thoughts.

Thanks!

suaviter in modo, fortiter in re

Posts: 3142 | Location: Exit 7 NJ | Registered: March 21, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
I Wanna Missile
Picture of tanksoldier
posted Hide Post

"I am a Soldier. I fight where I'm told and I win where I fight."
GEN George S. Patton, Jr.

Posts: 21542 | Location: Eastern plains of Colorado | Registered: January 25, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Now in Florida
Picture of ChicagoSigMan
posted Hide Post
The traditional gift is a briefcase, but if he is continuing as a cop and not practicing law, then it might not be the best choice.

I like the fountain pen idea if that is something he would appreciate. He could get a lot of use from such a gift.

Posts: 6063 | Location: FL | Registered: March 09, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
thin skin can't win
Picture of Georgeair
posted Hide Post
I'm going to recommend a nice leather portfolio, like a Hartmann.