SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Name brand vs generic gasoline
Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Name brand vs generic gasoline Login/Join 
Picture of sigcrazy7
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by SIGnified:
quote:
Originally posted by jimmy123x:
quote:
quote:
Originally posted by BB61:

Thanks to both. I’ve been putting ethanol free in my Tacoma for several years. My mileage increased enough to almost cover the increased cost of the gas. I’m sure part of the increased mileage is it has a higher octane level but I’ve always wondered, outside of ethanol, if there are any other differences.

I find frequently that most people rarely understand what an octane rating is much less the value of one.

Unless you using a turbocharger or a high compression engine you don’t require high-octane. It's useful when you need to stop the chances of predetination in the cylinder due to excessive heat from turbo/poor intercoolers and/or high ratio compression which blows before the correct timing aka “knock” (which ain’t the same as run-on).

Most modern cars will dial back/retard timing if you have the wrong fuel for your car re: octane. Many folks think high octane is more powerful, when actually it is less likely to combust (especially under high temps and compression).

In my case I have run 100, 101,108 and 110 octane race gas because my ECU delivers extra fuel to over 20lbs of boost on the K24 twin turbos; even with upgraded intercoolers. Because of this I can run advanced timing too which results in about 550hp. YMMV.