Question:
What do you call it now?

Choices:
number sign
pound sign
hashtag
whatever fits the application

Texan by choice, not accident of birth

Posts: 27902 | Location: Dallas, TX | Registered: May 08, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Delusions of Adequacy
Picture of zoom6zoom
posted Hide Post
"Sharp"

I have my own style of humor. I call it Snarkasm.

Posts: 17944 | Location: Virginia | Registered: June 02, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of mcrimm
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by zoom6zoom:
"Sharp"

I agree - I started learning music before I learned the others. Good Catch

I'm sorry if I hurt you feelings when I called you stupid - I thought you already knew - Unknown
When you have no future, you live in the past. " Sycamore Row" by John Grisham

Posts: 4214 | Location: Saddlebrooke, Arizona | Registered: December 24, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Amateur Astronomer
Picture of Test1968
posted Hide Post
I was taught it was called the octothorpe, later the pound sign

Alcohol
Tobacco
Firearms

Who brought the chips and dip?

Jim

Posts: 14023 | Location: limbo | Registered: August 29, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
eh-TEE-oh-clez
Picture of Aeteocles
posted Hide Post
Is it strange that I called it different things depending on context?

For instance, if the instructions were to dial "#277" then I would say "Pound Two Seven Seven" because "number" would sound weird.

But if I wanted to give someone instructions to write "We're #1", I would say "Write We're Number 1, using the number symbol."

Now, if wanted someone to tag a photo with some metadata, then I would call it a hashtag.

Posts: 13046 | Location: Orange County, California | Registered: May 19, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Test1968:
I was taught it was called the octothorps, later the pound sign

+1

The butcher with the sharpest knife has the warmest heart.