SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    *Update on a canoe on pg 2*Thoughts on getting a kayak. Sit-in or sit-on?
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

*Update on a canoe on pg 2*Thoughts on getting a kayak. Sit-in or sit-on? Login/Join 
PopeDaddy
Picture of x0225095
posted Hide Post
I prefer sit-in

Jackson sit ins are great. I have two Kilroys. But there are a couple of models available at a lower price point.

https://www.jacksonkayak.com/

Nu-canoe is another brand I like.

https://www.nucanoe.com/

Both are known for extreme stability.

0:01

Posts: 4206 | Location: ALABAMA | Registered: January 05, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of konata88
posted Hide Post
I'm not an expert, just a casual kayak user.

I have Tarpons (10' and 12') and they are great. Very stable, relatively quick and easy to control.

Lots of great points / tips above. I would only comment that, based on my usages on relatively calm lake / river water (exception is when speed boats create large wakes), I might consider a sit-in.

Calm water and good swimmer (in swimmable water) may be a good match for sit-in for me. Like mentioned above, SOT can be very heavy - even the 10' is a little unwieldy for me. I envy the kayakers who can lift and transport their sit-in kayak by themselves.

I would probably kayak more often in more places if I could transport more easily (ie - sit in). Many time I want to go kayaking by myself, I end up not going because of the difficulties of the heavy SOT kayak.

Summary: I really like the SOT kayak (Tarpon) but it's challenging to go by myself. I'm interested in a sit in (for calm waters) so that I can manage by myself better.

"Wrong does not cease to be wrong because the majority share in it." L.Tolstoy
"A government is just a body of people, usually, notably, ungoverned." Shepherd Book

Posts: 12714 | Location: In the gilded cage | Registered: December 09, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Never miss an opportunity