SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Unions; thoughts by an owner/entrepreneur
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Unions; thoughts by an owner/entrepreneur Login/Join 
posted
I have been a small business owner over the past 40 years, now retired. My theory was always treat employees fairly, pay wages that were at or above going rate and provide benefits for all. The times that unions tried to organize, the employees told them of go F**k themselves.

Here is a comment from another owner that shut down a business he owned...

Why I’m Against Unions At Businesses I Create
Posted on September 12, 2017 by JR

It is the Free Enterprise system that has made this country an economically wealthy and powerful nation and I enjoy participating in it. And I like starting businesses that solve problems and create jobs. In fact, I love it.

When a business succeeds, it’s fantastic; fantastic for the people working in the business, and fantastic for consumers who benefit from a new product or service.

But, there’s a tough reality to starting businesses: more of them fail than succeed. In fact, most businesses fail. They fail because it’s hard to build a successful company. There are always powerful forces working against you – e.g., competition, regulation, access to capital, poor execution, poor timing, bad luck. Sometimes it turns out that your idea just won’t work.

And yet, here’s the thing: trying to solve all the problems that a business faces is what’s fun for me, particularly when I’m doing it shoulder-to-shoulder with people who share my passion for building a successful enterprise.

Which brings me to the topic of unions.