SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Bouncing back from getting laid off from work...
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Bouncing back from getting laid off from work... Login/Join 
posted
Hello,

Im sure this will turn in to a bitch session from me but I'm at a loss.

About a year ago me and my wife decided to move back to the USA and we decided to move to Alaska, a lifelong dream of mine. Well I found what seemed like an awesome job, I was given some extra responsibilities which I welcomed.

We moved up here, I was able to find my wife some work with the school I'm a teacher at which was awesome of them and something we very much appreciate. When I started, I wasn't given a heck of a lot of training or anything, in fact my supervisor only showed up 4 times the whole year, one of which while I was out in the hospital for my broken ankle.

Anyways, about a week ago I basically get told that with the budget cuts, I'm getting chopped from the list, as was another first year teacher in the district, this is all I know but I do know that about 7 others are leaving the district, weather its by choice or the same story as me, I dont know.

Anyways, I destroyed my ankle, Now I'm finding that I'm not being invited back next year even after I've been absolutely busting my ass doing everything asked of me.

I have no doubt that I'll find a different location, probably a better one too, I just don't understand how this could happen, I never saw it coming and neither did my co-workers who were as shocked as I am.

Its just really frustrating, I've never been fired or laid off before in my life, not even close.

It absolutely sucks to have to balance the job search with my broken ankle, and still have to work the rest of the contract to the best of my abilities while trying to re-assure my wife that things will work out (hard to convince somebody of something you don't really feel).

Anybody been there?, got any advice?

thanks!!!