New
Find
Notify
Tools

London Attack Login/Join 
Freethinker
Picture of sigfreund
posted Hide Post
Many people in this country are as “phobic” about firearms as anyone anyplace else in the world. There may be a higher percentage of such people in some places (almost anywhere else, as a matter of fact), but their reactions cannot be any more extreme than what we can find any day here. When it comes to personal interactions, I’ve seen far more fascination with talking to someone who is normally armed than snowflake hysteria. Even if they obviously don’t like the idea of private (or any other, for that matter) ownership of firearms, most people have been polite and inquisitive if they didn’t just change the subject. When I tell people I’m a firearms instructor, and especially if I mention my specific law enforcement duties, it’s often met with wide-eyed wonderment, but never have I encountered disgust and censure. YouTube videos obviously make it clear that that’s possible, but I suspect they usually show the small minority fringe.

6.4/93.6

“Wise men talk because they have something to say; fools, because they have to say something.”
— Plato

Posts: 47394 | Location: 10,150 Feet Above Sea Level in Colorado | Registered: April 04, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Live Slow,
Die Whenever
Picture of medic451
posted Hide Post

"I won't be wronged, I won't be insulted, and I won't be laid a hand on. I don't do these things to other people and I require the same from them."
- John Wayne in "The Shootist"

Posts: 3446 | Location: California | Registered: May 31, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
half-genius,
half-wit
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by corsair:
quote:
Originally posted by tacfoley:
quote: