SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    I’ve fallen behind the technology curve in regards to vehicles
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

I’ve fallen behind the technology curve in regards to vehicles Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
Sounds like you touched nerve here!

When I bought my 2017 Lexus GS, I noticed with amusement that the "quick reference guide" was 100 pages!

Although I am a tech enthusiast, I still continue to learn new features about this car, even though I have had it for 3 years!

Posts: 939 | Location: Herndon, Virginia | Registered: February 23, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Ah yes, the good old days. You could do a valve job on your 1954 Chevy at 40,000 miles and points and plugs every 10,000 miles. It got 15 miles per gallon if you were lucky in gentle country driving with no power accessories and no air conditioning. 0-60 was about 12 seconds and it would stop slightly faster than a freight train. How many generators, starters,brake shoes, exhaust systems and carburetors did it take to go 100,000 miles? How much more likely were you to get killed in an accident? Yes, the new ones are expensive to fix and you have to read the owner's manual once in a while. Of course I was making $3500 a year back then.

Posts: 1494 | Location: S/W Illinois | Registered: October 29, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of sigcrazy7
posted Hide Post
My neighbor has a 1927 Ford model T in his garage. He was giving me the tour, and he pointed out that his was a late model T, so it had a water pump instead of convection cooling. I commented that it must be better to actually have a heater, because of the water pump. He showed me a tin tray that you’re supposed to fill with burning coal/charcoal before your trip if you want heat.

Who needs all this fancy tech. I like it the way it was! Smile