SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Musicians - interpretations of a score?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Musicians - interpretations of a score? Login/Join 
Picture of konata88
posted
I'm not a musician - I played piano as a child so I could play notes but never got to a phase where I would form my own interpretations by intention.

I'm watching a tv show where musical competitions is part of the story line. A score shows what notes to play, how fast to play them, how long to hold them. What other dimensions, other than how hard (loud?) to play the note/chord, are left for interpretation assuming you stick to the score?

When they refer to interpretation, what is the musician modulating that's not reflected in the score? When they say you need a certain interpretation to win competitions vs how you may personally want to play, what do they mean?

"Wrong does not cease to be wrong because the majority share in it." L.Tolstoy
"A government is just a body of people, usually, notably, ungoverned." Shepherd Book

Posts: 12683 | Location: In the gilded cage | Registered: December 09, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
delicately calloused
Picture of darthfuster
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by konata88:
I'm not a musician - I played piano as a child so I could play notes but never got to a phase where I would form my own interpretations by intention.

I'm watching a tv show where musical competitions is part of the story line. A score shows what notes to play, how fast to play them, how long to hold them. What other dimensions, other than how hard (loud?) to play the note/chord, are left for interpretation assuming you stick to the score?

When they refer to interpretation, what is the musician modulating that's not reflected in the score? When they say you need a certain interpretation to win competitions vs how you may personally want to play, what do they mean?