SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Major flooding in China; Update 9-22-2020
Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Major flooding in China; Update 9-22-2020 Login/Join 
Low Profile Member
posted Hide Post
quote:
The one of the dam shifting seems to indicate it's only a matter of time.

Yes. I'm no expert so it may not mean what it suggests to me but that one really got my attention. Very scary and I don't know what could be done to rectify that, if it is necessary.

Posts: 3529 | Registered: August 19, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Oh stewardess,
I speak jive.
Picture of 46and2
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by 280nosler:
Just so people have a better understanding of water flow - the emergency water discharge from the dam (per second) is 25x more than what flows over the Niagara Falls (per second).

Wow.

Barely comprehensible, that much at once.

Posts: 25613 | Registered: March 12, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Crusty old
curmudgeon
Picture of Jimbo54
posted Hide Post
Wow, 400 million is roughly 1/3 of the total population of China. It's hard for me to wrap my head around that. God help those people.

Jim

"If you can't be a good example, then you'll have to be a horrible warning" -Catherine Aird

Posts: 9791 | Location: The right side of Washington State | Registered: September 14, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by 46and2:
quote:
Just so people have a better understanding of water flow - the emergency water discharge from the dam (per second) is 25x more than what flows over the Niagara Falls (per second).

Wow.

Barely comprehensible, that much at once.

Here is another for you - the per second emergency discharge is 66,000 tonnes of water.

To be even more mind bending, at the rate it is being discharged, it would take 93 days to fill Lake Erie to the brim if it was empty.