SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    American-made multitool
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

American-made multitool Login/Join 
Serenity now!
Picture of 4x5
posted
I never thought I would need something like a Leatherman multitool, but, if things work out the way I hope, I may be exchanging my urban life for one a bit more rural. So, I started looking at multitools, and would like to get a nice one that's Made-in-America. In addition to Leatherman, what could you recommend?

Ladies and gentlemen, take my advice - pull down your pants and slide on the ice.
ʘ ͜ʖ ʘ

Posts: 4929 | Location: Highland, UT | Registered: September 14, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Dang short list sadly. Bear & Son cutlery looks good and are made in Alabama I think. I have no experience with their quality. I'd stick with leatherman myself

Posts: 4756 | Location: Florida Panhandle  | Registered: November 23, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
A day late, and
a dollar short
Picture of Warhorse
posted Hide Post
I have two Leatherman multi-tools, one is the original supertool, the other is the wave. Now that I'm retired and live in the city, I never carry either anymore, but one or the other is always in the cars.

Leatherman tools are top quality IMHO.

Posts: 13678 | Location: Michigan | Registered: July 10, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
addicted to trailing-throttle oversteer
posted Hide Post
Gerber multi-tools are at a minimum assembled in the U.S., but a number of their designs are considered made in the U.S. Though based on my past experiences owning and using some of their past multi-tools I wouldn't recommend them to anyone looking for a durable tool that won't break apart during use. That company will have to prove to me that their current designs are actually worthy of consideration.