Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

New cane Login/Join 
Picture of henryaz
posted

I know V-Tail has mentioned these several times. In fact, I got my first Canemasters cane several years ago, a basic "Boomer cane", which I used sparingly, based on his recommendation. Now, like V-Tail, I need one regularly, so I ordered a new one from these folks, with a few upgrades. They emphasize the self defense aspects of a "stick", and the ability to take a cane virtually anywhere, on a plane, in a courthouse, whatever.

Canemasters teaches cane-fu classes in self-defense using a cane, also for disabled folks. They offer a "wounded warrior" program, where they will give a free 3 hour seminar in self defense for disabled vets, and for a class of 25 or more, a free cane for each ($225 value). And no, I did not pay that much for mine.

My new cane: the finger grooves go around all four sides, the horn is what they call the "viper's head", and the finish to the heartwood hickory is tung oil. I added some Renaissance Wax to protect it, as they recommend. The wood, btw, is a full 1" thick/diameter, unlike the common canes you find in your basic drug store. A crappy cell phone pic, as usual:

Posts: 10785 | Location: South Congress AZ | Registered: May 27, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
אַרְיֵה
Picture of V-Tail
posted Hide Post
NICE! That is upscale from mine, and a good looking cane.

Mine is similar in shape, but not as nice in detail and finish.

After several years I wore through the rubber tip, and rather than take the time to order a proper one online I went to a medical supply store that's on my route from home to the hangar. It probably took four years or more to wear through the first ip.

הרחפת שלי מלאה בצלופחים

Posts: 30659 | Location: Central Florida, Orlando area | Registered: January 03, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Yokel
Picture of ontmark
posted Hide Post
Thanks for the info.

I am getting close to wanting-needing one.