SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Woodworkers: time to upgrade my miter saw.
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Woodworkers: time to upgrade my miter saw. Login/Join 
Stuck on
himself
posted
I want to replace my old porter cable standard compound miter saw with a sliding compound. Any suggestions for a good upper-middle tier? I don’t want crap but I’m not a professional either.

Posts: 4177 | Registered: January 23, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Three Generations
of Service
Picture of PHPaul
posted Hide Post
A couple of the better carpenters I know use Hitachi sliding compounds.

Be careful when following the masses. Sometimes the M is silent.

Posts: 15227 | Location: Downeast Maine | Registered: March 10, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of cyanide357
posted Hide Post
Bosch axial-glide miter saw - 10" (CM10GD) or 12" (CM12SD) version.

Posts: 249 | Registered: November 24, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I just scored this Makita 10" dual bevel sliding miter saw a couple of weeks ago from Home Depot for $399, with batteries. Never could find it priced that low on their web site or any other site for that matter. Can't even tell it's battery powered, it cuts and cuts. I've since bought one of their sub compact impacts and a 36V skill saw. I'm sold on the brand and their batteries.

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Ma...it-XSL06PT/302255047

Posts: 2679 | Location: The Low Country | Registered: October 21, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Partial dichotomy
posted Hide Post
I sure like my Hitachi 10". It has a wide range of uses in that size.

SIGforum: For all your needs!
Imagine our influence if every gun owner in America was an NRA member! Click the box>>>

Posts: 38674 | Location: SC Lowcountry/Cape Cod | Registered: November 22, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
All of those, or a big ol 12 inch DeWalt, you’ll be happy.

--