SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Wife wants to learn how to type
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Wife wants to learn how to type Login/Join 
I Am The Walrus
posted
I took it in high school so I've been typing for many years.

She never took it. She took an online test a couple times today and it estimated she was "typing" between 23-25 WPM. Not sure how legit the test was but I gave it a go a couple times and came out to 75-80 WPM.

Is Mavis Beacon still a good option? I see you can get the program for a low price online.

When I learned, it was actually our business teacher/drivers ed teacher who taught us. He constantly walked around the room talking about the home row...

Posts: 13109 | Registered: March 12, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
I Am The Walrus
posted Hide Post
This is offered online through our local college:

http://cs.valenciacollege.edu/...0-5356704.1553306790

Any thought on this?

Posts: 13109 | Registered: March 12, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Taking a class in person is preferable. Provides motivation and help if needed. Of course you will have to practice alot at home. Teachers can spontaneously correct mistakes.

Posts: 17235 | Location: Stuck at home | Registered: January 02, 2015Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of bigdeal
posted Hide Post
This may sound a bit insane, but after she's taken a class and practiced enough to have a decent understanding where the keys are on the keyboard, buy her a cheap mechanical keyboard and swap out all the key caps for blank ones. You can only get really good at touch typing when you remove the training wheels (i.e. the white lettering on the key caps). I even go back to using a DAS keyboard I have every once in a while that's totally blank. When I type with it for a little while I can actually type while watching TV or talking to someone without ever looking down at the keyboard. That's when you can really pick up speed.