SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    So my 13 year old son built his first PC, I needed one also update page 3
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

So my 13 year old son built his first PC, I needed one also update page 3 Login/Join 
Resident Knuckledragger
Picture of IndyRob
posted Hide Post
The i5 is a great chip for gaming, not so much for video editing. The only weak link I see in your son's build is the 1070 GPU.

I have the 7700K matched with a Asus ROG Maximus board, IMO, it's the best combo out there.

I don't think the Ryzen chips are as good as they're hyped to be, but I have limited experience with them. I've only built two systems with them.

Posts: 7358 | Location: Greater Indianapolis Area | Registered: October 14, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Happily Retired
Picture of Bassamatic
posted Hide Post
I've built a bunch of PC's over the years but those days are over. Shoot, you can buy a great system for less and save your time.

But, I think it's great your kid wants to learn the process. Smile

.....never marry a woman who is mean to your waitress.

Posts: 5024 | Location: Lake of the Ozarks, MO. | Registered: September 05, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Lunasee
posted Hide Post
I usually build my own high-end gaming system ~ every 5 years. Avg. cost is $1500 - $1800. I just built one 2 mo. ago. My Grandson is going to college next year. His computer/gaming sys. died last week. For graduating HS and Christmas, I'm going to buy him a new system. The same system I built for myself, I found pre-built for ~$300 more. Considering build time and S/W load time, I believe I'll buy pre-built in the future.

Posts: 518 | Location: Hillsboro, OR | Registered: January 09, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Member!
posted Hide Post