SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Phase converter for 3 phase electric
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Phase converter for 3 phase electric Login/Join 
We Are...MARSHALL
Picture of armedmd
posted
I’m not an electrician. I don’t play with electricity. However I purchased a bandsaw mill that is powered by a 3 phase electric motor. Currently at the farm I don’t have 3 phase electric. I’ve got a few options. One would be replace the electric motor with a Diesel engine. I could also purchase a 3 phase generator which would allow mobility as well. A friend suggested a third option, a phase converter. I have zero experience with this setup so I’m wondering if it’s reasonable. I could also call the power company and have a 3 phase service installed but it’s expensive and prevents mobility with the mill. I’m asking for suggestions as usual from folks that know more than me. Thanks in advance. I don’t have the numbers in front of me at the moment but the mill is fully hydraulic and can handle 24’ logs with 28” diameter.

Build a man a fire and keep him warm for a night, set a man on fire and keep him warm the rest of his life.

Posts: 1893 | Location: WV | Registered: December 15, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
What hp is your 3 phase motor? If less than 5 hp, might consider replacing the three phase motor with a single phase motor.

War Eagle!

Posts: 128 | Location: Alabama | Registered: July 08, 2017Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of cne32507
posted Hide Post
The industrial phase converters I have seen are large & heavy. Maybe attach it to a 1/2 pallet base for moving.

Posts: 2520 | Location: High Sierra & Low Desert | Registered: February 03, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post