SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Larry King and Gregory Sierra RIP
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Larry King and Gregory Sierra RIP Login/Join 
Now and Zen
Picture of clubleaf206
posted
Don’t have a link, I apologize. King was 87, his cause of death wasn’t mentioned. Sierra, who portrayed Detective Chano on ‘Barney Miller’ died of cancer at the age of 83.

Posts: 12178 | Location: The untamed wilds of Kansas | Registered: August 25, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, saves lives
posted Hide Post
In my 25 years as a cop, I have come to realize that Barney Miller was the single most realistic cop show in the history of television.

For that accomplishment alone, Mr Sierra will be missed.

"I don't own the night, I only operate a small franchise" - Author unknown

Posts: 2447 | Location: Texas | Registered: September 27, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
RIP. I also like Sierre in Sanford & Son

Posts: 1568 | Location: TEXAS | Registered: August 17, 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post
delicately calloused
Picture of darthfuster
posted Hide Post
Last I heard, King was hospitalized with Covid-19.

You’re a lying dog-faced pony soldier

Posts: 29682 | Location: Highland, Ut. | Registered: May 07, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of TigerDore
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by car541:
In my 25 years as a cop, I have come to realize that Barney Miller was the single most realistic cop show in the history of television.

For that accomplishment alone, Mr Sierra will be missed.

I remember a policeman being interviewed on a talk show back in the late 70s or early 80s. The host asked him which police shows were the most realistic, then he reeled off the names of several dramas, like: Kojak, Police Story, Hill Street Blues, etc. The policeman paused a moment and responded "Barney Miller" and the entire audience burst out laughing. Awesome moment.