SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    TurboTax desktop software vs online?
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

TurboTax desktop software vs online? Login/Join 
Picture of PakRatJR
posted
I've been digging and can't find a answer for this.

I have been using the online free for the last several years and haven't had any real issues with things, but because I have a HSA through work, the free version apparently isn't the "correct" version and I am always prompted that I need to upgrade to the deluxe version for whatever amount.

Oddly/thankfully I have been able to somehow never actually do the upgrade thing and just kept going and filing with the free version. I think I did actually pay once but it was quite a few years ago.

That is until this year, they seemed to have "fixed" whatever it was that previously let me get all the way through without the upgrade.

So now they want to charge me $40 to "purchase" the upgrade to finish everything. And I do know that it is something I would probably now need to pay every year with the online thing.

I can get the desktop version for the same $40 from Amazon but I can't find anything that will tell me if I can just keep using that from this point on or if I will still need to buy it again next year. I don't generally get shit back from the feds, I'm getting a whole $2.00 this year, and I really don't want to have to keep paying for this.

Posts: 483 | Location: Sussex WI | Registered: April 04, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
There comes a time in life where your time is worth something. Just pay the money. Tax law changes every year. Just be happy you do not have to pay a CPA to do them for you.

Posts: 17234 | Location: Stuck at home | Registered: January 02, 2015Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post