SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Signal Private Messenger vs. WhatsApp, Etc.
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Signal Private Messenger vs. WhatsApp, Etc. Login/Join 
Savor the limelight
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by ensigmatic:

<broken record>There are no stupid questions, only stupid answers.</broken record> Smile

Hold my beer.

Why does one need a messaing app? I've been sending and receiving text messages for 15 years and email for 10 years longer than that. In fact, my email address is from when Microsoft was my ISP in the 90s. Have I been doing it wrong all this time?

Posts: 10821 | Location: SWFL | Registered: October 10, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
The Ice Cream Man
posted Hide Post
Yes. ProtonMail is simple, and encrypted, email.

Posts: 5706 | Location: Republic of Ice Cream, Miami Beach, FL | Registered: May 24, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Nullus Anxietas
Picture of ensigmatic
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by trapper189:
quote:
Originally posted by ensigmatic:
<broken record>There are no stupid questions, only stupid answers.</broken record> Smile

Hold my beer.

Why does one need a messaing app? I've been sending and receiving text messages for 15 years ...

Two reasons:

1. If you've been texting that long, surely you remember when text messages cost money, right? They were even more expensive in other parts of the world. Sometimes they're still chargeable--particularly between countries.

2. SMS and MMS messages are not encrypted. So anybody who can insert themselves into the message stream can read or alter them.

A third reason, in the current context: Signal Private Messenger does more than messaging. It also does voice and video calls.

quote:
... and email for 10 years longer than that. In fact, my email address is from when Microsoft was my ISP in the 90s.

Got you beat. I've been doing email since before the Internet was even a thing Smile

quote: