SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    WWII Field Kitchens
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

WWII Field Kitchens Login/Join 
Never miss an opportunity
to be Batman!
Picture of jsbcody
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by ZSMICHAEL:
I ate Spam sandwiches as a kid when Dad was out of work. I have eaten MREs and they are better. Never tried C rations. I could see how that would be a morale booster though.

C rations weren't bad. I want in when they still had CRats. I got a retiring Master Sergeants "ccokbook" on how to combine different CRats for a fire team or squad banquet. They then switched over to MREs. I in unit where we all got food poisoning. It was due to the hype that MREs could be stored indefinitely in any conditions. So the MREs were stored in bunkers subject to the extreme heat and cold. I was so sick and so dehydrated it took 3 one liter IVs going into me before ANY fluid came out the normal way. It hit while on patrol, water was going through me without changing colors. Got back, reported in, passed out, and woke up in ER.

Hot meals out in the field are HUGE morale boosters. Sitting at a picnic bench in a chair (or anything chair like) instead of a foxhole to eat said meal as an even bigger morale boost.

Posts: 3926 | Location: St.Louis County MO | Registered: October 13, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Muzzle flash
aficionado
Picture of flashguy
posted Hide Post
In the 1960s at Mt. Hebo AFS we didn't have "C" rations, but "K" rations as emergency food. When our bacon ran low we sometimes opened some of the salty Spam and fried it for breakfast and midnight chow. It was an acceptable, if not great, substitute. (I actually liked it.)

flashguy

Texan by choice, not accident of birth

Posts: 27902 | Location: Dallas, TX | Registered: May 08, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Fire for effect
posted Hide Post
What's good for morale in the field?