SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    increasing violence on healthcare workers
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

increasing violence on healthcare workers Login/Join 
Picture of HayesGreener
posted Hide Post
One of our PI firm's services is to provide consulting and training in workplace violence prevention for businesses. OHSHA regulations requires that employers provide a safe workplace for their employees, and negligence in this area has resulted in some significant lawsuits. That had driven much attention to the problem of workplace violence by corporations and managers, but much remains to be done. The incidence of workplace violence is much less than it was 20 years ago, but we hear about it more because of mass shootings and a 24 hour news cycle.

The health profession is in a class of it's own in terms of victimology. The Bureau of Labor compiles statistics of assaults by profession. The ratio of assaults against health care employees in general is significantly lower than other professions such as retail sales and law enforcement. But when you look more closely at the numbers, within the medical community it is mental health workers (technicians) and ER staff (nurses) who are most at risk. The irony is that they are being attacked by people they are trying to assist. A lot can be done to mitigate the risk, and an institution that fails to adhere to a standard of care to protect their employees does so at great peril of a negligence suit.

We also train security officers for their Florida Class G firearms license. Many security officers are unarmed and their pay is terrible. I am convinced that unarmed security officers will become a thing of the past within the next decade, due to the liability attached to a failure to protect employees and customers.

CMSGT USAF (Retired)
Chief of Police (Retired)

Posts: 4358 | Location: Florida Panhandle | Registered: September 27, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Rail-less
and