SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Reason #347 I’d like to live in Texas
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Reason #347 I’d like to live in Texas Login/Join 
Stop Talking, Start Doing
posted
I emailed a Dallas-based client from work that I’ve been working with for several months (software implementation) on Friday to remind him that we’re closed Monday, in observance of Presidents’ Day.

He replied last night and said “you know what, I’ll probably take a PTO day or ‘work from home’ on Monday ... ya know, to observe Presidents Day.”

Man, what a great response. It was completely unnecessary, and probably would have made 99% of my co-worker’s heads explode, but it really hit home.

I would *never* hear something like that said at the company I work for.

In fact, I’m positive that several of our business leaders are pissed that we have Monday off, for such holiday (now Roll Eyes).

So for now, I’ll just pretend I’m in a red state. And that I interact with like-minded individuals.

Posts: 5070 | Location: The (R)ight side of Washington State | Registered: August 31, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Oriental Redneck
Picture of 12131
posted Hide Post
Too many holidays I could do without, and President's Day is one. MLK Day is another.

The only holidays worth observing, imo, are: Christmas, New Year, Easter, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Veterans Day, and Thanksgiving.

Q

Posts: 26205 | Location: TEXAS | Registered: September 04, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of erj_pilot
posted Hide Post
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
Oh c'mon! Not Earth Day?!?!?!? Roll Eyes Big Grin

"If you’re a leader, you lead the way. Not just on the easy ones; you take the tough ones too…” – MAJ Richard D. Winters (1918-2011), E Company, 2nd Battalion, 506th Parachute Infantry Regiment, 101st Airborne