SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Electric lawnmower experience
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Electric lawnmower experience Login/Join 
posted
Ever own one? Bout time to replace my old gasser. Don’t have a huge yard. Suggestions, comments advice?

Posts: 1605 | Location: Texas Hill Country | Registered: April 07, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I have no experience with the lawn mowers, but the 56 volt EGO blower works really well and after 3 years of weekly use for 25-30 mins still going great.

Here's an older thread on the lawn mower:

sigforum.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/320601935/m/1360026524/p/1

Posts: 21335 | Registered: June 12, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Hobbs
posted Hide Post
I have a Kobalt 80V and really like it a lot. I opted for the non self-propelled version. My lot is level, I only have 1/3 acre and it's lighter weight than a gas burner. The non self-propelled works fine for me and battery lasts longer than I imagine a self-propelled one would.

I'm happy with the battery life. I have just under about half the battery left when done mowing and it charges pretty quick although I've never timed it or had a need to.

The electric mower does not mulch as well as a gas burner. Just not as powerful. I still use my gas mower when leaves are heavy in the lawn or sticks and twigs have fallen after a storm.

The electric mower performs best when grass is cut regularly and before it gets real tall. The electric mower hums along until it reaches thick heavy grass and then effortlessly and automatically ups the rpms to power through ... but of course higher rpms is less battery life, so cut more often. Your battery will thank you and the lawn will look great.