SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Transitions Lenses... good, bad, indifferent, gimmick?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Transitions Lenses... good, bad, indifferent, gimmick? Login/Join 
Muzzle flash
aficionado
Picture of flashguy
posted Hide Post
I had them when I was wearing glasses, and liked them a lot. After dual cataract surgeries I no longer wear glasses except for reading, so I don't have the benefit of the transition lenses any more. Bummer!

flashguy

Texan by choice, not accident of birth

Posts: 27902 | Location: Dallas, TX | Registered: May 08, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I think I have been using them for about twenty years. I would not even think about getting a set of lenses without some type of transition lenses. They are not perfect, but they work for me. They do take a longgg time to lighten in the cold.

Posts: 1913 | Location: U.P. of michigan | Registered: March 02, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of P250UA5
posted Hide Post
Last time I looked into it, was told my prescription was too strong for them Confused

Now they have transitions contacts, but haven't given them a try.

My dad has a transition visor for his motorcycle helmet, a Shoei RF1200 IIRC, and he loves it.

The Enemy's gate is down.

Posts: 15154 | Location: Spring, TX | Registered: July 11, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Recondite Raider
Picture of lizardman_u
posted Hide Post
I like my transition lenses, but they don't work well for driving due to coatings/tinting on the windshield that prevent the glasses from darkening.

So I have a pair of prescription sunglasses in the car.

Posts: 3564 | Location: Boardman, Oregon | Registered: September 19, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of trebor44
posted Hide Post