SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Being your own general contractor building a house
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Being your own general contractor building a house Login/Join 
I Am The Walrus
posted Hide Post
I'm a residential construction manager.

Don't do it if you want to keep your sanity. You might or might not save any money but any money you save wouldn't be worth the hassle.

Posts: 13109 | Registered: March 12, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Quit staring at my wife's Butt
Picture of XLT
posted Hide Post
Don't even consider it, if you don't have first hand experience at this it's not going to turn out well for you.

the first time a sub needs to ask you a question that you have no idea about, your going to be in trouble.

So many things have to be done in the right sequence and one sub sets up for another. all these things have to mesh together or your going to end up with one giant cluster fuck in the end.

You wont save a penny and forget about any kind of warranty. when the subs are gone and paid if the job wasn't enjoyable for them , they are not going to come back.

Posts: 5594 | Registered: February 09, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
More persistent
than capable
posted Hide Post
I contracted my house 35 years ago,being in the trades everyone involved was well known to me with years working together on jobs. I was on the job first thing in the morning to see who showed, there at noon to answer questions and check progress and at the end of the day to clean up and see who needed to be on call for the next phase. The house at 3000 sq feet was completed in 3 months and I was a total burnout.
Is it worth it? It was then as a young man, and is now as a retiree, those thousands of dollars saved compounded over the years. YMMV, especially dealing with unknown entities.

Lick the lollipop of mediocrity once and you suck forever.