SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    What sound source does my wife want?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

What sound source does my wife want? Login/Join 
Picture of 4MUL8R
posted
Being an engineer, I try to find solutions. This morning, my wife asked if she could use the six-year old iPod that I threw away in our bedroom trash at her workplace as a music source. I related to her that I felt that I understood her goals, and that the ancient iPod would not function. I further related that it did not work in our home at all, would not connect reliably, did not have cloud connectivity (Apple), and could not use the current apps for Pandora.

I'm not sure what to make of a spouse who goes through the trash, inadvertently noting the shiny silver object therein, and trying to make something positive out of it. That's another concern.

The question at hand is -- what do I purchase for my wife? I will try to summarize the customer requirements, which did take a long time to relate.
1. Connects reliably to a wireless network
2. Not as big as a boom box
3. Not as loud as a boom box
4. Not desirable, as the cleaning people will take it at night for their very own
5. Displays at least one internet music source, such as Pandora, iHeart Radio, etc.
6. Operates on battery power (no outlets nearby, for whatever reason, in a health clinic)
7. Rechargeable
8. Affordable

I would really like to buy one or more of these things so that my wife does not take my Bose equipment to her work and leave her iPhone there, connected to the Bose, overnight.

-------
Trying to simplify my life...

Posts: 5050 | Location: Commonwealth of Virginia | Registered: January 15, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Step by step walk the thousand mile road
Picture of Sig2340
posted Hide Post