SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Walking canes for self defense.
Page 1 2 3 4 5 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Walking canes for self defense. Login/Join 
Picture of Krazeehorse
posted Hide Post
If you don't need a cane is there any concern it might make it appear that you are an easier "mark".

Be careful what you tolerate. You are teaching people how to treat you.

Posts: 5680 | Location: Ohio | Registered: December 27, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of henryaz
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Jim Shugart:
I'm looking at something from Cain Masters in hickory. Being a woodworker, I'm familiar with the properties of hickory -- you almost have to treat it as if it were a metal.

Go with the upgrade to heartwood hickory. A bit darker and heavier.

When in doubt, mumble

Posts: 10778 | Location: South Congress AZ | Registered: May 27, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Drug Dealer
Picture of Jim Shugart
posted Hide Post
^ ^ ^ ^ I did, I just ordered one. These things ain't cheap!

When a thing is funny, search it carefully for a hidden truth. - George Bernard Shaw

Posts: 15471 | Location: Virginia | Registered: July 03, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
His Royal Hiney
Picture of Rey HRH
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by 911Boss:
How closely do the nice TSA folks look at canes? Anyone ever have any trouble getting them onboard without checking?

Asking for a friend...

You need a cane to keep you stable; kinda defeats the purpose if they make you check it in.
I’ve traveled international with a cane. At the gate in the US, I stand near the front seats to stretch my legs and someone comes over and let’s me know I have priority boarding. Overseas, they see the cane and they make me sit on a wheelchair which they push around. Priority boarding also on the way back and stops in between.