SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    I-85 in Atlanta collapse
Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

I-85 in Atlanta collapse Login/Join 
Picture of myrottiety
posted Hide Post
Gonna make my life hell for a while. I'm a recruiter here in town. Alpharetta to Downtown and reverse is a lot of the recruiting I do. Brutal.

Train how you intend to Fight

Remember - Training is not sparring. Sparring is not fighting. Fighting is not combat.

Posts: 8847 | Location: Woodstock, GA | Registered: August 04, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
SIG's 'n Surefires
Picture of M-11
posted Hide Post
I'm not a structural engineer, so would someone please educate me on how burning PVC can cause an entire section of overpass to drop? Thanks.

"Common sense is wisdom with its sleeves rolled up." -Kyle Farnsworth
"Freedom of Speech does not guarantee freedom from consequences." -Mike Rowe
"Democracies aren't overthrown, they're given away." -George Lucas

Posts: 6880 | Location: IL, due south of the Arch | Registered: April 20, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Shaql
posted Hide Post
Extreme heat damaging the concrete and causing the rebar to heat up, expand, and then the concrete 'pops'.

It wasn't a little fire:

Hedley Lamarr: Wait, wait, wait. I'm unarmed.
Bart: Alright, we'll settle this like men, with our fists.
Hedley Lamarr: Sorry, I just remembered . . . I am armed.

Posts: 6850 | Location: Atlanta | Registered: April 23, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
thin skin can't win
Picture of Georgeair
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by M-11:
I'm not a structural engineer, so would someone please educate me on how burning PVC can cause an entire section of overpass to drop? Thanks.

Heat?

It doesn't look like it was a few pieces of PVC, but instead a pile of it. I expect it burned really hot, and for a long time.

You only have integrity once. - imprezaguy02