SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    How do You Cook (Recipe Related)
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

How do You Cook (Recipe Related) Login/Join 
The Unmanned Writer
Picture of LS1 GTO
posted
So the wife and i, along with my daughter I've learned, tend to use recipes more as a guideline than as a rule - unless it's something unique and never made before. We might add or subtract certain ingredients based on taste or, more importantly, just make something based on what's on hand.

Question:
How do you use recipes?

Choices:
To the letter!
Only if I've never tried making a dish before, then they're guidlines.
Sometimes yes, sometimes no depending on the dish
Recipes? What are those?
Pinch of salt on each side of the steak and baked potato - how hard is that to remember?

Life moves pretty fast. If you don't stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.

"If dogs don't go to Heaven, I want to go where they go" Will Rogers

Posts: 14036 | Location: It was Lat: 33.xxxx Lon: 44.xxxx now it's CA :( | Registered: March 22, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Void Where Prohibited
Picture of WaterburyBob
posted Hide Post
If it's baking, then to the letter - baking is much less forgiving than cooking.
With cooking, changes to suit your personal taste are fair game.

"If Gun Control worked, Chicago would look like Mayberry, not Thunderdome" - Cam Edwards

Posts: 16509 | Location: Under the Boot of Tyranny in Connectistan | Registered: February 02, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by LS1 GTO:
just make something based on what's on hand.

These are some of the best meals.

The butcher with the sharpest knife has the warmest heart.

Posts: 13397 | Location: Bottom of Lake Washington | Registered: March 06, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Drill Here, Drill Now
Picture of tatortodd
posted Hide Post