SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Engineers and automation guys: Anyone using Siemens Logo?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Engineers and automation guys: Anyone using Siemens Logo? Login/Join 
Picture of vthoky
posted
Good evening, everyone.

I'm writing tonight with my usual curiosity. Anybody using these Logo controllers? I'm just getting started with them, and though I'm not really proficient I do really like them.

I have a project in mind, monitoring water temperature in a couple of tanks. That's relatively easy. The tougher part is that I want to be able to get an SMS message out of the system when/if something goes wrong. So far, I'm not seeing a smooth way of doing that.

Who's got knowledge?

Thanks, all.

God bless America.

Posts: 13483 | Location: The mountainous part of Hokie Nation! | Registered: July 15, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Security Sage
Picture of striker1
posted Hide Post
We work on some equipment that has used older versions of the Siemens and Eaton controllers.

It does look like the LOGO 8 CRM module can send texts and also initiate commands from received texts.

RB

Cancer fighter (Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma) since 2009, now fighting Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma.

Posts: 7133 | Location: Michiana | Registered: March 01, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of vthoky
posted Hide Post
I've seen the CRM (CMR?) module, and I spoke with a Siemens rep about it last week. Seems they're not well suited to U.S. use, as they work on 2G cellular networks. The rep explained that those are popular in Europe and South America, but the U.S. has largely adopted 3G/4G networks and there hasn't been enough demand in the U.S. for Siemens to release a new model.

That unit would have been ideal, if it worked here. Making it worse: my building sits right on the edge of decent cellular service. Service in the morning is fair, but by afternoon it just stinks.