SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Lets talk stainless steel cookware
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Lets talk stainless steel cookware Login/Join 
posted
I have always used non stick pans and have been disappointed with them. I found out I was screwing them up by using cooking spray on them. Who would have known.

In my search for a new fry pan I came across stainless steel but have been leery as if not used properly you can have major issues with food burning and sticking.

What should I know about using and caring for stainless? I was going to get one fry pan as a tester.

Posts: 5414 | Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA | Registered: February 27, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Back, and
to the left
Picture of 83v45magna
posted Hide Post
Stainless is ok for me and cleans up extremely well with Barkeep's Friend. I always wanted to get a good quality carbon steel pan to test in the same way you described. I've no experience with those. I am curious what the collective experience here thinks about SS and will be watching this thread.

Posts: 7248 | Location: Dallas | Registered: August 04, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
All-Clad is what I use. Expensive but worth it. Made in America. It is a tool and you must learn to use it well. I also use steel, cast iron and non-stick.

Posts: 104 | Location: Idaho | Registered: June 23, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Instead of a frying pan, you should start off with a saute pan. A bit more versatile and easier to work with for many dishes. Make sure it has the lid, you'll do a bunch of one-pot meals and braising. Fry pan is good for exactly that, frying...and some braising.

You recognized non-stick's don't need cooking spray, in-fact, non-stick pans should only be used for eggs, fish, dishes that are sugary, or, cheesy. Otherwise, use a standard pan or, cast iron, with oil or, butter to provide a fatty non-stick surface.