SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Do-it-yourself oil change guys: Oil filter won't come off.
Page 1 2 3 4 5 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Do-it-yourself oil change guys: Oil filter won't come off. Login/Join 
Did you come from behind
that rock, or from under it?

Picture of Audioholic
posted Hide Post
Back in the dark ages when I wrenched for a living the Hazet 2172 was king of the hill. I've seen knock-offs of this wrench but I doubt any of them has the metal tempered like the Hazet.

"Every time you think you weaken the nation" Moe Howard

Posts: 2048 | Location: Out standing in my field. | Registered: February 07, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Oh stewardess,
I speak jive.
Picture of 46and2
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by darthfuster:
quote:
Originally posted by chellim1:
quote:
Hey, I heard once that you could use a screwdriver through the body of the filter to loosen it, but then I heard that even though it works sometimes, it's risky because filter bodies aren't really made of tough stuff and you can just tear them up.

Just get the Lisle Swivel-Gripper!
It won't tear apart your filter.
It swivels, it grips... where no hand will reach!

It slices! It dices! It slaps and chops!!!! ...but wait, there's more!!! Big Grin

Act now and get TWO Ginsu knives for the price of one.

Call now, before its too late. Operators are standing by.

Posts: 25613 | Registered: March 12, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
A good oil filter wrench is less than $10. If you are changing your own oil, you should have one that's the right size or not even bother.

Posts: 21335 | Registered: June 12, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Lawyers, Guns
and Money
Picture of chellim1
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by jimmy123x:
A good oil filter wrench is less than $10. If you are changing your own oil, you should have one that's the right size or not even bother.