SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Anyone make the roux for their gumbo in the oven?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Anyone make the roux for their gumbo in the oven? Login/Join 
Too soon old,
too late smart
posted
I followed a fellow's roux making method of baking the flour for 20 minutes at 350F in the oven. The flour still looked white until mixed with the oil. The color wasn't very dark and that bothered me. It tasted OK, but I may have been hungrier than usual. Has anyone else used the oven method and got a dark chocolate colored roux?

Posts: 4757 | Location: Southern Texas | Registered: May 17, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Get my pies
outta the oven!

Picture of PASig
posted Hide Post
We used to make brown roux for brown gravy in the oven when I was a cook in the Army.

We used melted shortening and flour in a large roasting pan and baked it 375-400 stirring with a whisk regularly. The key was to start with a thin layer of the raw roux and the constant stirring.

Posts: 33768 | Location: Pennsylvania | Registered: November 12, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Spread the Disease
Picture of flesheatingvirus
posted Hide Post
I think it's easier on the stove top. I get mine pretty dark.

-- Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past me I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain. --

Posts: 17269 | Location: New Mexico | Registered: October 14, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Delusions of Adequacy
Picture of zoom6zoom
posted Hide Post
The longer you leave it in the oven the darker it will get.
The advantage is that it doesn't need to be watched as closely. If you're trying to do a dark roux on the stove, you gotta watch it like a hawk once it starts getting dark.

I have my own style of humor. I call it Snarkasm.