SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Anyone know about basement floors?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Anyone know about basement floors? Login/Join 
TANSTAAFL
posted
I live in a rowhouse just south of Baltimore. It has no garage, but has a basement with concrete floors. Thinking about putting in a home gym, but I am kind of worried about the floors. Anyone know if a residential basement floor would support the weight of a bench, rack, and maybe 300lbs of weights(plus user)?

Posts: 715 | Location: Baltimore til I can get out of there. | Registered: June 08, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I'm not an engineer, but I'd say no problem. The 50 gallons of water in your water heater weighs 350# and that's concentrated in a smaller area than a weight bench. Many of us also have gun safes that weigh that much sitting on basement floors. It's dang tough to break 4-6" concrete that is supported by compressed gravel.

Posts: 8955 | Location: The Red part of Minnesota | Registered: October 06, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Armed and Gregarious
Picture of DMF
posted Hide Post
Without any admixtures to enhance the concrete, the compressive strength of most concrete mixes will be a little over 3000psi. Most driveways are made with that type of mix, so you should be ok assuming it's at least a 4" slab.

I would recommend going to a tack shop and buying stall mats to lay down to protect the concrete from be chipped by any dropped weights/equipment. It will last longer, and be cheaper per square foot than most products marketed specifically for gym flooring.

"War is the remedy that our enemies have chosen, and I say let us give them all they want." - William Tecumseh Sherman

Posts: 12591 | Location: Nomad | Registered: January 10, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Just for the
hell of it
Picture of comet24
posted Hide Post
You mean will the concrete hold the gym equipment.

Absolutely. If it doesn't you have some real issues.